Christmas is over, the stockings are down, the presents are put away, and the magic is gone. I’m now ready for a beach. Realistically, this is not going to happen. I was fortunate enough to travel to Jamaica for New Year’s Eve, but I was welcomed back with minus degree weather and the threat of snow. To all those suffering out there, I feel you. As soon as November rolls around, I am about ready to make my getaway to paradise. Again, not in the cards. For those of us stuck here in the dreadful cold, here are some ways to make it a little more bearable.

  1. Accept the fact that it sucks.

Because it does. It really does. The longer you take to accept it, the more you deny yourself the opportunity to progress. Whether you live in Canada or the Alps, snow is a thing. And it will keep falling. Acceptance is the first step. Stop looking at mystical white sand beaches and old summer pictures. Be present.

  1. Find small things that you enjoy about winter

I can honestly admit, watching the snowfall peacefully knowing I have no errands to run that day can be serene. Set aside time to appreciate the beauty of winter, when you don’t have to actually participate in it. Christmas is my favourite time of winter, but it’s not the only beautiful thing about this time of year. You might as well make the best of it, whether it’s skating or curling up with a book and tea. Thoroughly bundle up and go for a walk, enjoy the sunshine.

  1. Don’t be too hard on yourself

Despite my feelings towards the colder months, they are here to stay. Creativity occasionally sparks from sadness, so be productive. Even if it’s just about getting out of bed and changing your laundry over, it’s an accomplishment. Sometimes celebrating the minuscule feats is beneficial. Seasonal affective disorder is a real thing, but most people generally feel down in the colder months. Don’t beat yourself up over it, because it makes sense. The days are shorter, thus the sun sets earlier. However, the words of Annie, the sun will come out tomorrow. I promise.

 

